DIY · Jewelry · My Creations

Day 7: A beaded necklace

20160502_143234

About a year and a half ago, while roaming the Lower East Side with Boyfriend, I ran across a jewelry storefront that made me pause in my tracks:

IMG_7202

I’ve long been the owner of splendidly colorful seed beads gifted to me way back when in middle school. Ever since, I’ve always racked my brain trying to figure out a way to put them together that didn’t seem somehow kindergarten arts & crafts project-y.

So I was thrilled to find these beaded pieces that looked not only elegant, but also totally replicable at home.

It’s been a while since I picked up the ol’ pliers, but some new wire and chain was enough to kick me back into the game. Might tackle a few more necklaces, then move on to bracelets and earrings — that is, so long as my fingers can handle all that clamping and twisting.

* * * * * * *

Future project ideas:

  • Wedding invite update
  • Upcycle old candy tin as planter

 

Leave a Reply

