Art · My Creations · Sketches · Watercolors

Day 17: A bird watercolor, finished

Bird Watercolor Irene Park An Opus Per Diem
Bird Watercolor, by Irene Park/An Opus Per Diem

After fiddling all day with my watercolor exercise, I’m pleased to say I think I’ve completed a piece that’s neither perfect nor amazing, but still surpassed expectations (if I say so myself). I’m debating, however, whether I like it with or without paint splatters (which were a part of the original inspiration material).

I didn’t like how diluted my paint splatters were, and also how I couldn’t create quite as much variation in splatter sizes as I would have liked. At the same time, I think the paint splatters do add some energy to the painting that just isn’t there with the still.

Above is with, below is without.

Bird Watercolor Irene Park An Opus Per Diem
Bird Watercolor, by Irene Park/An Opus Per Diem

Which do you prefer?

5 thoughts on “Day 17: A bird watercolor, finished

Leave a Reply

