Gardening · My Creations · Photography

Day 19: Manhattan sunset photography

manhattan sunset skyline irene park an opus per diem
Manhattan Sunset Photography, by Irene Park/An Opus Per Diem

Ever since I went on a rampage some years ago taking virtually nothing except sunset photos, I try to make it a point not to point (hah) my lens toward the sun if I can help it. But I live in a city with arguably the best Manhattan skyline views. Obviously I couldn’t not have a sunset shot taken right from home.

I initially dragged my DSLR and Kenji the Dog outside to get a shot of clouds saturating the sky, complete with a wisp of fog veiling the Empire State Building. Somewhat to my surprise, though, the shots taken after the sky had cleared up somewhat showed off the layers of vapor, the reflected light, and the movement of the clouds even better. But my favorite element actually turned out to be the Chrysler Building lights in the vertical shot above, namely the way it almost looks like the lights aren’t lights at all, but instead the sky showing through spearhead slits in the building.

manhattan sunset skyline irene park an opus per diem
Manhattan Sunset Photography, by Irene Park/An Opus Per Diem

I took these from the pier right across the street, but methinks next time I’ll try and get a shot from our 14th floor communal terrace. Gotta take advantage of those amenities I paid for sometime.

* * * * * * *

In other totally non-photography-related news, I’ve been semi-obsessed for a while now with Egglings and actually getting them to hatch (I had attempted three times in the past, with zero success).

WELL: I’m happy to announce that, with only my fourth Eggling, I’ve finally succeeded in producing a sprout!

eggling petunia an opus per diem
Petunia Eggling, by An Opus Per DIem

*~SO KYOOOOOT~*

Okay, so it’s only one tiiiiiny, itsy bitsy, baby of all babies sprout. But you know what? I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

