Art · Games · My Creations · Nerdism · Sketches

Day 78: Ponyta, marker colored

ponyta marker watercolor irene park an opus per diem

So I finally did it. I went and bought some Copic markers.

I know, I know. I’m not a marker artist. I don’t know any marker techniques. I don’t have any tricks of my own for using them. The last time I used markers was those Crayola markers sometime in elementary school. Plus, Copics are really expensive.

But I just couldn’t help myself because I found a 25% off first-time purchase coupon at Jerry’s Artarama. With free shipping.

See, Otaku Fuel is the cheapest store I know for buying Copics in the U.S.

A comparison of its prices with Blick and Jerry’s:

  • Individual Copic Sketch markers: $5.23 at OF, $$5.24 at Blick/JA
  • Copic Sketch Basic 12 set: $58.99 at OF, $62.91 at Blick/JA
  • 72 Set A: $329.99 at OF, $352.30 at Blick/JA

But with 25% off, that Set A at JA is only $264.23. Not a small price to pay… but I figured, where else was I going to find Copics for $3.67 a pop?

Really, I should have tried harder to put Copics out of sight, out of mind. The thing is, it’s so hard to go a day of art browsing without seeing the mysterious words “drawn with Copic marker.” Also, as much as I enjoy watercoloring, I sometimes feel like it requires just a bit too much preparation and space (all those brushes and that huge palette!) just to do the simplest coloring.

Sigh.

I guess at the end of the day, I should have paid more attention to this post (it starts, “This is a sketch that I did to show that you don’t need fancy supplies to create the art you want…”) from Nuri of tumblr account actionhankbeard.

Anyway, worked on this Ponyta. Didn’t really spend a lot of time on it at all (I busted it out in just under half an hour) because the start was so rough I didn’t think it had a chance of turning out decent. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be, but I could definitely afford to take more time with the next marker piece and get some real practice in.

Leave a Reply

